Option 1: IPCOPY Method

Each Resident installed will include a program called ‘IPCOPY’ that will be used by the Resident to join/leave a Neighborhood that the Resident is part of.

To join a Neighborhood, users should input all the resident information in the IPLISTTX file present in the Web ViewPoint Enterprise subvolume $volume.subvol:

NOTE: Make sure there are NO extra spaces with in the IPLISTTX file.

Run the below program to join the neighborhood.
> RUN IPCOPY

NOTE: Restart the Web Viewpoint Enterprise Instance.

This populates the neighborhood information to the IPLIST file. Open the IE browser and enter the Web ViewPoint Enterprise URL to verify the nodes. The nodes populated in the IPLIST file will be displayed when clicked on the globe icon on the logon screen as shown in the example below.

To leave neighborhood, just run the below command to purge data from the IPLIST file.

FUP PURGEDATA IPLIST

Restart Web ViewPoint Enterprise, this should remove the neighborhood information from the resident node.

Option 2: SYNC Method

Each Resident installed will include a synchronization program called Sync that will be used by the Resident to join/leave a Neighborhood as well as synchronize the entire Neighborhood that the Resident is part of.

SYNC:

This program should be run to:

  • Start a Neighborhood
  • Join an existing Neighborhood
  • Synchronize all Residents of a Neighborhood
  • Leave a Neighborhood.

To run the SYNC program, user should run the following command in their Web ViewPoint Enterprise $volume.subvol:

>run sync

When the program will be run for the first time, the user will be shown a menu screen that looks like this:

********** WVP Central Router Options **********
*                                                                                              *
*        1. Create Neighborhood                                        *
*        2. Join a Neighborhood                                          *
*        3. Exit                                                                          *
*                                                                                              *
**************************************************

For creating a new Neighborhood, Option 1 (Create Neighborhood) is chosen which prompts the user for the Neighborhood name. On entering the name, the Central Router database will be initialized, which will initially have an entry of just the Resident that initialized it.

To initiate other Residents into this Neighborhood, Option 2 (Join) is chosen. In this case, the user needs to specify the name of the Neighborhood as well as the location of any one existing Resident belonging to that Neighborhood. After this step, the user will be prompted to enter the TCPIP process name of the current system.

Using the other Resident’s location information, the program will first update its own Resident’s database with data obtained from the other and then synchronize the databases of all Residents of the Neighborhood to reflect the newly-added Resident’s data.

Once a Resident is part of the Neighborhood, subsequent calls to Sync will show a menu as shown below:

Subsequently, any change to the IP address or Port Number by the user should be communicated to the entire Neighborhood by running Sync again, and selecting option 1 (Synchronize). So if a user makes changes to the IP address or Port Number in the UGATCONF file, he/she needs to run Sync which will automatically update the databases of all Neighbors with the new IP Address/Port Number without the user having to specify the changed IP/port again.

************* WVP Central Router Options **********
*                                                                                               *
*        1. Synchronize                                                             *
*        2. Leave Neighborhood                                              *
*         3. Exit                                                                          *
***********************************************

Note that during synchronization, the database with the most recent “Version” will be used as reference. This ensures that even if a Resident is down during synchronization, running the program at a later time (when it becomes available again), will update its database to the latest state.

If option 2 (Leave Neighborhood) is chosen, the Resident’s entry will be removed from the database of all others belonging to that Neighborhood.