How Can We Help?

Search for answers or browse our knowledge base.

Documentation | Demos | Support

< All Topics
Print

Neighborhood Setup

Quickstart

About Neighborhood

A Neighborhood is a collection of NonStop Servers (Cluster), each of which has a running copy of My NonStop. Each Server in this model is called a Resident. Each Resident holds information (e.g. IP address/Name/Port) about all other Residents in its Neighborhood.   My NonStop connects to each Resident directly (Expand is not used), and in doing so, learns about all other Residents/neighbors. It is therefore able to retrieve information from all Residents and display content on one or more Browser Windows as its user requires.

How it works

My NonStop provides a web UI that enables you to setup and manage a neighborhood. Point of access for this feature is via click of a Neighborhood icon on the My NonStop toolbar. All My NonStop users (i.e. WVP E’s Admin users only) will have access to this. On a secure logon to My NonStop, when user clicks ‘Neighborhood’ icon on the toolbar, Manage Neighborhood page is displayed (pop-out window).

Setup/Manage Neighborhood

By default, this page lists the server that you are currently logged on to. This server will be the home server (indicated by the home icon next to it). Toolbar options

  • Add Server. Button to Add Server. Allows users to add one or more servers to the neighborhood
  • Refresh/Reload icon. Updates any new information about the neighborhood (servers in it)

Columns per row:

  • Server. NonStop Server Name and Serial #
  • DNS Name/IP. DNS Name or IP Address of NonStop server
  • Port. Port number on which My NonStop is running
  • Status. Connection status to the NonStop server. If connection is established, show green check mark and if it’s not ok, show a red warning sign

Buttons per row: Edit. Allows user to edit the existing server information present in the neighborhood. Remove. Allows user to leave the server from the neighborhood. This button is available for all servers except the home server. Home server cannot be removed.

Adding Server(s) to the Neighborhood

Clicking on the Neighborhood icon on My NonStop’s toolbar will open a new pop-up window where users can Manage/Setup Neighborhood. To add a new server (where My NonStop is already installed on) into a neighborhood user clicks on Add Server button. This opens a new modal window to enter the following fields, establish connection and add that server.   Fields: Server Name. Required, is the node name of the NonStop server you want to add in the neighborhood. Valid NonStop Server name. Regex: DNS Name/IP. Required, is the DNS Name or the IP Address of the NonStop server. Port. Required, is the port number on which the My NonStop application is running on the NonStop server. Buttons

  • Add. Focus must be on the first text field. Add button must be enabled only after values are entered in all fields.

Click on Add button tries to make a connection to the server that you entered the details for. On successful connection, the server info gets stored into the My NonStop’s YAML file on both the servers (Home server & newly added server). And this server gets added to the neighborhood and lists in the Manage Neighborhood screen.

  • Reset. Reset any information entered in these fields to blank.

Editing a Server in Neighborhood

Users can edit existing server’s information in a neighborhood. Clicking on Edit opens a modal window with the values displayed in the text fields (these values are read from the My NonStop’s YAML file). User can change the values of any field and click on Update to save the new information after a successful connection to the server. Edit option is available to all servers in the neighborhood but the Home Server since home server gets auto-updated.   Buttons

  • Update.  Click on Update button tries to make a connection to the server info that recently changed. On successful connection, the server info gets stored into the My NonStop’s YAML file on both the servers (Home server & newly added server).

Manage Neighborhood screen lists the updated server info.

  • Reset. Reset any information entered in these fields back to the original values i.e. prior to the changes made.

Removing a Server from Neighborhood

Users can choose to leave a neighborhood. Delete icon is given for each server row. Click on Delete icon, prompts user for a confirmation if they really want to leave the neighborhood. If they click on Yes, then the server information is removed from the YAML file on both nodes.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 5 stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 0%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Please submit the reason for your vote so that we can improve the article.
Previous Install and start My NonStop
Next Shadowbase Monitor
Table of Contents
WordPress Image Lightbox Plugin
Skip to content